Skip to Main Content

Open Access Research Publishing: Open Access Research Awards 2019

This is a guide to open access pubilshing in the heatlh services.

Open Access Research Awards 2019

Sixth annual HSE Open Access Research Awards presented in Dr Steevens' Hospital

The 2019 HSE Open Access Research Awards were presented in Dr Steevens' Hospital, Dublin on Wednesday 4th December 2019. The overall winner was Des Crowley and colleagues, for their paper "Evaluating peer-supported screening as a hepatitis C case-finding model in prisoners".

The external judge of the awards, Prof. Jonathan Drennan, paid tribute to the study, which he hailed as an example of how this year's entries had highlighted underserved and neglected groups in society.


This full list of awards is as follows:

Overall winner:

Des Crowley and colleagues: “Evaluating peer-supported screening as a hepatitis C case-finding model in prisoners”.


Acute Hospitals category:

George Shorten, Karthikeyan Srinivasan and colleagues: “Proficiency-based progression training: an ‘end to end’ model for decreasing error applied to achievement of effective epidural analgesia during labour: a randomised control study”.


Clinical Strategy and Programmes category:

Ide Delargy and colleagues: “Twenty years of the methadone treatment protocol in Ireland: reflections on the role of general practice”.


Primary Care category:

Conor Judge and colleagues: “Aspirin for primary prevention of stroke in individuals without cardiovascular disease—A meta-analysis”.


Mental Health category:

Daniel Flynn and colleagues: “Does an adapted Dialectical Behaviour Therapy skills training programme result in positive outcomes for participants with a dual diagnosis? A mixed methods study”.


Quality Improvement category:

Daniela Rohde and colleagues: “Cognitive impairment and medication adherence post-stroke: A five-year follow-up of the ASPIRE-S cohort”.


Social Care category:

Natalie Hession and colleagues: “Being “Mindful” of Dignity in Dying: Developing Awareness, Fostering a Psychological Understanding, and Supporting Dignified Endings-To-Life”.


Health and Wellbeing category:

Niamh Merriman and colleagues: “Addressing cognitive impairment following stroke: systematic review and meta-analysis of non-randomised controlled studies of psychological interventions”.


Overall winner Des Crowley

Overall winner Des Crowley with the HSE's Director of

Research, Dr Ana Terrés

HSE Library, Health Service Executive. Dr. Steevens' Library, Dr. Steevens' Hospital, Dublin 8. D08 W2A8 Tel: 01-6352555/8. Email: