Skip to Main Content

Open Access Research Publishing: Open Access Research Awards 2016

This is a guide to open access pubilshing in the heatlh services.

Open Access Research Awards 2016 - Picture Gallery

Bennery Rickard adresses the award recipients

HSE National Health Librarian Aoife Lawton launches Dr Greg Martin's new video

Dr Stephanie O'Keeffe (National Director, HSE Health & Wellbeing Division) announces the awards

Ken O'Reilly, winner in the Mental Health category

Richard Conway, winner of the overall award

Dr Stephanie O'Keeffe, Dr Maire O'Connor and Dr Greg Martin

Mary Clare O'Hara, winner in the Clinical Strategy & Programmes category

Gethin White and Dr Maire O'Connor

List of Award Winners 2016

HSE Open Access Research Awards 2016


The winners of the 2016 awards were:


Shane Knox, National Ambulance Service (Acute Hospitals category)

Mary Clare O’Hara, Galway University Hospital (Clinical Strategy and Programmes category)

Suja Somanadhan, Temple Street Children’s University Hospital (Health and Wellbeing category)

Ken O’Reilly, Central Mental Hospital (Mental Health category)

Alison Johnston, Letterkenny University Hospital, Breast Centre North West (National Cancer Control Programme category)

Claire Fitzgerald, University Hospital Waterford (Primary Care category)

Colum Dunne, Graduate Entry Medical School, University of Limerick (Quality Improvement category)

Catherine Dempsey, HSE Older Persons Services, Newbridge (Social Care category)

And the overall winner:

Richard Conway (Galway University Hospital)

HSE Library, Health Service Executive. Dr. Steevens' Library, Dr. Steevens' Hospital, Dublin 8. D08 W2A8 Tel: 01-6352555/8. Email: