HSE Library: Nursing & Midwifery, Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital: Resources

BMJ Learning Resources

Discover the best online learning for healthcare professionals

A fast and efficient way to test your knowledge and keep updated with the latest developments in medicine including a variety of clinical and non-clinical topics.

Click to access BMJ Learning: Online Courses for Healthcare Professionals. You access BMJ Learning you will need an HSE Library login.

Databases

CINAHL Complete. CINAHL Complete provides access to a comprehensive range of content covering over 50 nursing specialties as well as allied health subjects including speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy and much more.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
EMBASE (OVID) Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database containing references from a wide range of international journals. It includes all Medline content and is a good source of information for pharmacology, rehabilitation, medicine, mental health and a number of other areas.
Internurse Internurse is a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed nursing journals essential for nurse education.
Medline (Ebsco) Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
MEDLINE(OVID) Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers novice and expert searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals).
Online Resources A to Z List of eResources available via eHealth Library Ireland. Search by title. Filters by subject, publisher, or type.
Ovid resources (MIDIRS) Access Ovid online journals, books, and databases. HSE staff will have access to Embase and Medline through Ovid.
PsycINFO (APA) This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Wiley Medical and Nursing Collection An extensive journal collection provides full-text access to over 400 titles covering medical, nursing, and psychology disciplines.
Wiley Royal Marsden Manual 10 (RMM10) Clinical nurse experts from one of the UK’s leading centres of expertise have brought together all the latest clinical evidence nurses need to confidently meet the requirements of their demanding profession. This online manual includes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care, from handwashing to cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

Grey Literature

"Grey literature is usually understood to mean literature that is not formally published in sources such as books or journal articles" (Lefebvre et al. 2011, section 6.2.1.8)

Health research

LENUS- www.lenus.ie
The Grey Literature Report - Public Health Research

Dissertations and Theses

ULIR- http://ulir.ul.ie
Student theses, School of Nursing and Midwifery, Queens University Belfast

Science, Technology, Humanities

OpenGrey- www.opengrey.eu

Useful databases and evidence resources:

Australian College of Nursing
Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland (NMBI) Independent, statutory organisation that regulates the nursing and midwifery professions in Ireland.
Royal College of Nursing [Great Britain]
Google Scholar Search engine for scholarly literature.

HSE National Central Repository

The single trusted source for accessing, storing, and document control of HSE national policies, procedures, protocols, guidelines, and clinical guidelines is available.

CLICK HERE TO SEARCH REPOSITORY

Staff should follow the new 'Practical Guide', which will support you in the planning, development and sustainability of your document.

If necessary, you can find additional Department of Health guidance on developing national clinical guidelines here.

For support with evidence searching, contact: HSE Library.

Contact National Central Repository Team: ncr.team@hse.ie about developing HSE National PPPGs and clinical guidelines.

Nursing & Midwifery, Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital: Resources

Accessing Library Resources : Guides

Publication Finder

BMJ Learning Resources

Discover the best online learning for healthcare professionals

Databases

Grey Literature

HSE National Central Repository

HSE National Central Repository

Point of Care Tools