HLI: Searching systematically: Resources

Library Account - HSE Staff and Students

Registration

To register for a HSE Library account please fill in the online form and then contact your local HSE Library to process your application.

To register for access to online resources you no longer need a separate account, your library account can be used to log into OpenAthens. Use the Health Service Executive organisation and log in with your Library Account credentials. This will give you full access to the eHealth Library Online and to in branch services.

Userful Textbooks

Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: a Practical Guide by Helen Aveyard This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
ISBN: 9780335263073
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Systematic Searching by Paul Levay (Editor) In resource poor, cost saving times, this book provides practical advice on new methods and technologies involved in systematic searching and explores the role of information professionals in delivering these changes The editors bring together expert international practitioners and researchers to highlight the latest thinking on systematic searching. Beginning by looking at the methods and techniques underlying systematic searching, the book then examines the current challenges and the potential solutions to more effective searching in detail, before considering the role of the information specialist as an expert searcher. Systematic Searching blends theory and practice and takes into account different approaches to information retrieval with a special focus being given to searching for complex topics in a health-related environment. The book does not presume an in-depth prior knowledge or experience of systematic searching and includes case studies, practical examples and ideas for further research and reading. The book is divided into three parts: Methods covers theoretical approaches to evidence synthesis and the implications that these have for the search process, including searching for complex topics and choosing the right sources. Technology examines new technologies for retrieving evidence and how these are leading to new directions in information retrieval and evidence synthesis. People considers the future of the information specialist as an expert searcher and explores how information professionals can develop their skills in searching, communication and collaboration to ensure that information retrieval practice is, and remains, evidence-based. Systematic Searching will be essential reading for library and information service providers and information specialists, particularly those in a health-related environment. It will also be of interest to students of library and information science, systematic reviewers, researchers and practitioners conducting complex searches in settings including social care, education and criminal justice.
ISBN: 9781783303731
Publication Date: 2019-03-31
How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
ISBN: 9781119484745
Publication Date: 2019-05-06
The Pocket Guide to Critical Appraisal by Iain K. Crombie This second edition of the popular guide to critical appraisal is a fully updated revision of the previous edition. Written in the same easily accessible style, The Pocket Guide to Critical Appraisal now provides annotated checklists of the most common research designs. Consistent with recent developments in evidence-based medicine, these checklists distinguish between the risk of bias in the conduct of published studies and the value of the findings for healthcare delivery. Five new chapters have been added and the original chapters have been rewritten, making the new edition a complete and concise guide for the evaluation of research quality. In addition to the checklists, the book also: describes how to quickly identify the information needed for the critical appraisal provides simple explanations of statistical significance and the interpretation of confidence intervals reviews the major sources of bias and their impact on research findings explains how to summarise the risk of bias outlines the concept of certainty of evidence and how to calculate it identifies the challenges in assessing the value of research findings The Pocket Guide to Critical Appraisal is an essential guide for all health professions and students who read research papers and use their findings.
ISBN: 9781119835240
Publication Date: 2022-06-20

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions. All authors should consult the Handbook for guidance on the methods used in Cochrane systematic reviews. The Handbook includes guidance on the standard methods applicable to every review (planning a review, searching and selecting studies, data collection, risk of bias assessment, statistical analysis, GRADE and interpreting results), as well as more specialised topics (non-randomized studies, adverse effects, complex interventions, equity, economics, patient-reported outcomes, individual patient data, prospective meta-analysis, and qualitative research).