Searching systematically (old): Acquire - Build your search strategy

The Boolean operator OR is used to search for all the potential keywords for one topic or element of the framework. 

The Boolean operator AND is used to combine different concepts or parts of a framework (fewer results)

Search Filters are pre constructed search strategies that can be used for a complex search.  These search filters can be copied and pasted into the database search boxes, and the results added to the existing search.   There is a range of search filters available, some are about study types,  and others about a clinical topic such as diagnosis, or etiology. 

Using a search filter can save time and effort. 

Note:

• Check before using a search filter that the filter is validated, that it is produced by experts and that it will suit your search.
• Search filters are also usually database and platform specific.  

Every article added to the databases includes a number of subject headings.  Subject headings are controlled vocabulary or a dictionary of terms and each term has a specific definition.  Subject headings are reviewed yearly and can be changed or amended depending on changes or developments  in the subject.  

Use quotation marks before and after a phrase or words to search for a particular phrase or name.   Every database allows the use of ".." or phrase searching.

Truncation means that a symbol is used to take the place of a letter or letters in the middle or, more often, at the end of a word.  Depending on the database  the following symbols can be used.

• Asterisk *   
• Question mark ? 
• Dollar sign $  

Truncation is used most often to search for plurals. 

Searching using a proximity/adjacency operator  means that you wish to find your terms within a certain number of words of each other,  in a sentence, a paragraph or page section.   The search terms will be in the same proximity or close to each other with a certain number of words in between them. 

A short summary of common search terms which can be used when searching HSE Library databases on the Ebsco and Ovid Platforms.