Accessing eLibrary Resources

The National Health Library and Knowledge Service (NHLKS) librarians have collated a selection of key evidence sources on COVID-19 including point-of-care tool summaries, articles collections and evidence summaries.

NHLKS Evidence Summaries

Over 30 COVID-19 related topics are available and more will be added. If you have a new COVID-19 question, you can request an evidence summary online.

Map and country updates

• COVID-19 Health Service Monitor (Ireland)
• World Health Organisation COVID-19 Explorer
• John Hopkins University & Medicine Coronavirus Resource Center: World Map

Point-of-care tools

BMJ Best Practice: Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). The BMJ Best Practice topic overview provides an evidence overview on epidemiology, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and follow up. Includes patient information leaflet. See more on BMJ Best Practice App.

UpToDate: Publisher's Wolters Kluwer have made a set of tools and resources Clinical Effectiveness COVID-19 Resources Available to All. A range of specialty topics related to COVID-19 are covered.

Guidance

HSE Health Protection Surveillance Centre – Guidance for healthcare workers and professionals - Collection of guidance for Irish health professionals assessing and treating COVID-19 patients.

Global surveillance for human infection with novel coronavirus (COVID-19). Interim guidance from WHO on monitoring and detecting COVID-19

BMJ Best Practice: Diagnostic and Management guidelines - Collection of guidelines for testing and treatment from around the world.

Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RCOG) – Coronavirus (COVID-19) infection and pregnancy.

Cochrane Library

• Coronavirus (COVID-19): infection control and prevention measures: Outline of infection control measures
• Coronavirus (COVID-19): evidence relevant to critical care
• Coronavirus (COVID-19): regional anaesthesia to reduce drug use in anaesthesia and avoid aerosol generation

• Coronavirus (COVID-19): effective options for quitting smoking during the pandemic

Literature Collections

• EPPI Living systematic map of evidence - weekly updates to new research on COVID-19 arranged into various topic areas
• PubMed LitCov - regularly updated literature hub for up-to-date articles on novel Coronavirus COVID-19. 
• Mobile phone App ReadQXMD - with an updated collection of articles related to COVID-19

Publisher collections

• BMJ Coronavirus news & research - Collated updates on coronavirus from BMJ publications
• Dynamed - COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus)
• Elsevier - Elsevier connect coronavirus information centre
• JAMA - Coronavirus alert, collection of articles and updates on COVID-19
• The Lancet - Lancet coronavirus collection
• MAG Online Library - Coronavirus/COVID-19 articles
• The New England Journal of Medicine - Coronavirus (Covid-19)
• Oxford University Press - Access to OUP resources on COVID-19
• Springer Nature - SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19
• Wolters Kluwer - COVID-19 tools & resources for clinicians

Other sources

• Australian Library and Information Association - COVID-19 Live Literature Searches
• Centre for Evidence Based Dermatology - Coronavirus Dermatology Resource
• Geneva centre for education and research in humanitarian action - COVID-19 Scientific Resources
• Evidence Aid - Coronavirus (COVID-19): Evidence Collection
• National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences - COVID-19: Protecting workers - training resources
• World Health Organization - COVID-19 Global literature on coronavirus disease