Searching systematically: literature searching in a systematic way

CINAHL 

Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. - bibliographic database for Nursing, Midwifery and 17 Allied Health disciplines. Contains over 4 million records.  Can be accessed using the EBSCO platform. 

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes systematic reviews and trials. 

Embase 

Biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier B.V., containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide.  Can be accessed using the OVID platform. 

Medline

Authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for medical and biomedical literature. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and contains over 30 million records.   Medline can be accessed using a number of different platforms including Ebsco and Ovid. 

PsycINFO

World's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association.  Can be accessed using the  EBSCO platform. 

PubMed

Free resource supporting the search and retrieval of articles in biomedical and life sciences. Provides free access to Medline. Contains over 35 million records.  PubMed includes Medline, PubMed Central (open access articles) and BookShelf (book chapters).