HSE Library: All Summaries of Evidence: 6 march 2020 Evidence Sources for Mildly Symptomatic COVID-19 Treated in a Non-Hospital Setting

6 march 2020 Evidence Sources for Mildly Symptomatic COVID-19 Treated in a Non-Hospital Setting

Evidence Sources for Mildly Symptomatic COVID-19 Treated in a Non-Hospital Setting

Health Protection Surveillance Centre

@HPSCIreland

COVID-19: Telephone Risk Assessment and Testing Pathway for Mildly Symptomatic Patients Who Phone General Practice.¹ Provides clear guidance on what GPs should do when a patient phones with suspected COVID-19.

COVID-19: Risk Assessment for Patients Who Physically Present to General Practice.² Provides GPs with a risk assessment when a patient presents with suspected COVID-19.

BMJ Best Practice

@BMJBestPractice

COVID-19.³ Comprehensive topic review including background information on epidemiology and aetiology, guidance on diagnosis, management and follow-up, and a patient information leaflet.

Public Health England

@PHE_UK

COVID-19: Interim Guidance for Primary Care.⁴ 6-page document providing guidance for primary care including definition, symptoms, prevention and home treatment for people with a strong suspicion of infection with COVID-19.

COVID-19: Guidance for Health Professionals.⁵

Information on COVID-19, including guidance on the assessment and management of suspected cases.

NHS England

@NHSEngland

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19):Standard Operating Procedure: General Practice.⁶

Includes background, generic principles for primary care settings, the COVID-19 standard operating procedure, post-transfer actions and recommended steps to underpin practice resilience and the continuity of services while at the same time protecting patients, primary care staff and the public.

Health Protection Scotland

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19): Guidance for Primary Care. ⁷

Advice on the management of patients with clinical features and a travel history consistent with COVID-19.

World Health Organization

@WHO

Home care for patients with suspected novel coronavirus (nCoV) infection presenting with mild symptoms and management of contacts. ⁸

A rapid advice note on the provision of safe care at home to patients with suspected COVID-19 presenting with mild symptoms and public health measures relating to the management of asymptomatic contacts.

Centres for Disease Control and Prevention

@CDCgov

Interim Guidance for Implementing Home Care of People Not Requiring Hospitalization for 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV).⁹ Interim guidance on the coordination of home care and isolation of people with confirmed or suspected 2019-nCoV infection.

Interim guidance for persons who may have 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)to prevent spread in homes and residential communities. ¹⁰ Interim guidance that may help to prevent 2019-nCoV from spreading among pple in homes and communities.

COVID-19 TOPIC REVIEWS AND EMERGING LITERATURE

Cochrane Library

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Infection Control and Prevention Measures.¹¹ A special collection on COVID-19 focusing on infection control and prevention measures: physical interventions to interrupt or reduce the spread of respiratory viruses, interventions to improve hand hygiene compliance in patient care, improving adherence to standard precautions for the control of healthcare-associated infections, personal protective equipment for preventing highly infectious diseases, and behavioural interventions to improve use of respiratory protective equipment.

LitCovid

LitCovid. ¹²

A curated literature hub collating up-to-date scientific research about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. Provides central access to the emerging international literature on COVID-19.

UpToDate

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19).¹³

… from section “Management: Home Care” “Home management may be appropriate for patients with mild infection who can be adequately isolated in the outpatient setting. Management of such patients should focus on prevention of transmission to others, and monitoring for clinical deterioration, which should prompt hospitalization.” “Interim recommendations on home management of patients with COVID-19 can be found on the WHO and CDC websites.”

Patient Education: Coronavirusdisease 2019 (COVID-19) [The Basics].¹⁴

Provides patient information including: “What is COVID-19?” ; “How is COVID-19 spread?” ; “What are the symptoms of COVID-19?” ; “Should I see a doctor or nurse?” ; “Will I need tests?” ; “Can COVID-19 be prevented?”

European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control

@ECDC_EU  COVID-19. 15 Provides overview of COVID-19 including:

The latest situation update, epidemiological curve and global distribution.
A dashboard with the latest available data.
The current risk assessment.
Q and A.
A COVID-19 infographic with symptoms and prevention measures.

DynaMed

COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus). ¹⁶

Comprehensive topic review including background information, epidemiology, aetiology and pathogenesis, diagnosis, management, prognosis, infection control and patient information.

ClinicalKey

Coronavirus: Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)Infection. 17 Comprehensive topic review including diagnosis, treatment options, complications and prognosis, screening and prevention.

PICOT

Authors

† Brendan Leen, Regional Librarian, HSE South, St. Luke’s General Hospital, Kilkenny; Gethin White, Librarian, Dr. Steevens’ Hospital, Dublin; Isabelle Delaunois, Librarian, University Hospital Limerick; Linda Halton, Librarian, Our Lady’s Hospital, Navan; Marie Carrigan, Librarian, St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network, Dublin.

References

Health Protection Surveillance Centre. “Risk Assessment for Patients Presenting to General Practice and Healthcare Settings Other Than Receiving Hospitals.” https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/algorithms/COVID19%20Risk%20Assessment%20and%20Management%20of%20mildly%20symptomatic%20patients%20v2.0.pdf. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
Health Protection Surveillance Centre. “Risk Assessment for Patients Presenting to General Practice and Healthcare Settings Other Than Receiving Hospitals.” https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/algorithms/COVID19%20Risk%20Assessment%20Primary%20Care%20v6.0.pdf. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
BMJ Best Practice. “COVID-19.” BMJ Best Practice. https://bestpractice.bmj.com/topics/en-gb/3000168/. [Accessed 06March 2020].
Public Health England. COVID-19: Interim Guidance for Primary Care. https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/wn-cov-guidance-for-primary-care. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
Public Health England. COVID-19: Guidance for Health Professionals. https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/wuhan-novel-coronavirus. [Accessed 06March 2020].
National Health Service (England). “Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Standard Operating Procedure: General Practice.” https://www.england.nhs.uk/wpcontent/uploads/2020/02/20200305-COVID-19-PRIMARY-CARE-SOP-GP-PUBLICATION-V1.1.pdf. [Accessed 06March 2020].
Health Protection Scotland. “Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19): Guidance for Primary Care.” https://www.hps.scot.nhs.uk/web-resources-container/covid19-guidance-for-primary-care/. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
World Health Organization. Home care for patients with suspected novel coronavirus (nCoV) infection presenting with mild symptoms and management of contacts. Updated February 4, 2020. https://www.who.int/publications-detail/home-care-for-patients-with-suspected-novel-coronavirus- (ncov)-infection-presenting-with-mild-symptoms-and-management-of-contacts. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Interim Guidance for Implementing Home Care of People Not Requiring Hospitalization for 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV). Updated January 31, 2020. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/guidance-home-care.html. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
10 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Interim guidance for persons who may have 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV) to prevent spread in homes and residential communities. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/guidance-prevent-spread.html#First_heading. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
Cochrane Library. “Coronavirus (COVID-19): Infection Control and Prevention Measures.” https://www.cochranelibrary.com/collections/doi/SC000040/full. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
National Library of Medicine. “LitCovid.” https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/research/coronavirus/. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
McIntosh, K et al. “Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).” In: Post, TW (ed.), UpToDate.Waltham, MA. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/coronavirusdisease-2019-covid-19. [Accessed 06 March 2020].
UpToDate. “UpToDate Patient Education: Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) [The Basics].” In: Post, TW (ed.), UpToDate. Waltham, MA. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/coronavirus-disease-2019-covid-19-the-basics.[Accessed 06 March 2020].
European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control. “COVID-19.” https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/novel-coronavirus-china.[Accessed 06 March 2020].
DynaMed. “COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus).” Ipswich, MA: EBSCOInformation Services. [Accessed 06 March 2020]. 17 ClinicalKey. “Coronavirus: Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Infection.” https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/content/clinical_overview/67-s2.0-0e7112a3-e94d4136-94ba-cfdf9242ea43. [Accessed 06 March 2020].