Searching Systematically - useful databases and evidence resources: Databases - multi-disciplines

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making

Embase (Ovid)

biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier B.V., containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide

Medline (Ebsco)

Authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

CINAHL 

Nursing, midwifery and 17 health and social care disciplines.

OTseeker

Database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.

PeDRO

Database of over 49,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

Pubmed

Resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature

Proquest library

Scope of content depends on institutional access

TRIP database

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search. As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

CINAHL 

Nursing, midwifery and 17 health and social care disciplines.

PsycInfo (Ebsco)

World's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (Ebsco)

Includes literature in the disciplines: psychiatry and psychology; mental processes; anthropology; and observational and experimental methods.